You had to know they would straighten Lauren Alaina's hair and give her the full Carrie Underwood makeover treatment.

To me, it’s obvious: The top 12 girls on “American Idol” Season 10 are far superior to the top 12 guys.

I think we should dump most of the guys and only keep:

I had to change the channel when most of these guys sang. It was too painful. So of course Steven Tyler and Jennifer Lopez adored them. The second J.Lo talks about a performance as "organic" my stomach wants to pull a Casey Abrams.

• Casey Abrams (one of my old high school buddies compared him to a Gorg on “Fraggle Rock” and I’m now fond of that idea)
The hilariously cheesy Scotty McCreery
Paul “Bradley Cooper” McDonald
Brett “Whip My Hair” Loewenstern and
Jacob Lusk — but Jacob only so he can prove he can indeed sing a contemporary song. He has a great voice but I can’t imagine hearing it on any modern radio station.

The girls killed it, with few exceptions.

Naima Adedapo shocked me with such a good version of “Summertime.” Yes, Fantasia owned “Summertime,” but not this version.

I loved Karen Rodriguez’s Spanish/English “Hero.” I really loved Thia Megia’s “Out Here On My Own.” I just voted online for Thia.

I wasn’t too into Lauren Alaina’s “Turn on the Radio” but that was partly because she was half-drowned out by the background singers. She is definitely getting the “American Idol” style makeover. I knew she would. She is part Kelly Clarkson and part Carrie Underwood. She’ll be fine.

Pia Toscano has a lot of buzz right now after “I’ll Stand By You,” but part of me wonders if that standing ovation was for her rehearsal performance, or some other version. She was good, but not great on the version we got to see. Besides, it’s never safe to peak too soon. Lauren is probably better off for taking it a bit slow.

I still think Lauren A., Scotty and Thia could take it to the end.

But I voted or Casey Abrams last night. So did my high school friend. He makes me smile. He is, as Jennifer Lopez put it, “sexy” in some weird, weird way. That’s probably the only thing she said that was worth hearing.

Funny how Randy Jackson is all-of-a-sudden the only judge actually doling out constructive criticism. How did that happen? Now he just needs to come up with critiques beyond “pitchy” and “sharp” … “dawg.”

Watch all of the performances in videos on Wetpaint’s “American Idol” page. It’s pretty cool.

