Maybe they can try again?

By Gina Carbone
gina_carbone@comcast.net

I’ve always loved British “Bachelor” Matt Grant, but never more than when I heard him say this on “The Bachelor: Then & Now”:

Matt: “Did I find true love on the show? Um, no. Not one little bit. I proposed to a woman who was about a foot and a half shorter than me, who had nothing in common with me and thought there were palm trees in London. Did I make a mistake? Yes. Did I look like an idiot? Yes. Do I regret it? A little bit.”

Ha! Eat that, Monkey!

I can’t decide between irreverent Matt or sweet and lovable Andy Baldwin, who sponsors a child in Africa and says the people he helps don’t care that he was “The Bachelor,” they care that he’s a doctor. Even creepy Mike Fleiss (nice makeover!) loves Andy Baldwin.

It’s always the same story, isn’t it: The sexy guy vs. the stable guy. Matt vs. Andy. Roberto vs. Chris.

I wrote a detailed season-by-season recap of “The Bachelor: Then & Now” — which is going to play 100 more times on E!, in case you missed it — and you should be able to find the recap here at Wetpaint.com/the-bachelorette.

Even though there was a lot of overlap with Monday’s “The Stories Behind the Rose” (which was itself a remake of the March special of the same name), I liked this one more. Reality Steve was there, but he didn’t say anything incendiary. It was just a good refresher on the last 14 seasons.

I missed a good portion of the Charlie O’Connell season and I didn’t realize he dated the final two girls off camera while the show was airing and made his decision to pick Sarah (over Krisily) on live TV. Wouldn’t that be a good thing to bring back, to avoid spoilers? I guess if Ali does pick her guy during “The After the Final Rose,” it wouldn’t be too much of a surprise since it’s been done before.

By the way, did you see that the new Bachelor will NOT be named on Monday’s ATFR? That’s what it says here, anyway.

***

For all kinds of “Bachelorette” news, spoilers, recaps, top 10 lists, fashion face-offs and various general “stuff” visit www.wetpaint.com/the-bachelorette.

Catch up on my own nifty spoiler-and-speculation-filled Bachelor/Bachelorette archive here. I’ve been updating this frequently in the last few days, so do a lot of scrolling to get it all! :)

