Matt and Maddy ... are gone. Simon, pick them up for "X Factor."

By Gina Carbone
gina_carbone@comcast.net

I already posted the “American Idol” season 9 spoilers for the full top 24, but I still didn’t really believe them.

(**Feb. 24 update: It was as bad as I feared. The top 12 girls were awful and the top 12 guys weren’t much better.)

I couldn’t. Not when I didn’t see Maddy Curtis’ name. And DEFINITELY not when Matt Lawrence was left out.

His “Trouble” cover was my favorite audition in years, if not ever. And Kara DioGuardi whispered “top 12” about him, after he left the Orlando audition.

Maddy was let go after singing “When You’re In My Arms” on Hollywood Week night one.

(Simon Cowell: “That was certainly the wrong song, Maddy. Definitely, definitely, definitely.”)

And Matt was let go after his Big Dreams group’s horrible performance of Gwen Stefani’s “The Sweet Escape,” the song that sank many ships on Hollywood night two.

(Simon: “It was so horrific, it was as bad as anything I’ve heard in my life. You’re all in the same boat, and I’m sorry it’s the end.”)

I can’t believe Simon didn’t give Matt another shot at singing on his own. “American Idol” is an individual singing competition. There should be no group night at all. NO ONE likes it and it’s been proven to dump some of the most charismatic performers.

And Maddy. She’s the 16-year-old who is “not annoying,” from a Vermont family of good people and four brothers with Down Syndrome.

The new judges' panel. For the first time, I miss Paula Abdul.

It looked like “Idol” only wanted to keep individual singers who played guitar while they sang. Bagpipes, maybe, but auditioning with your guitar is the biggest cliché since “think outside the box.”

But that’s what Simon, Kara, Randy Jackson and newbie Ellen DeGeneres wanted.

Something tells me Paula Abdul would’ve saved Maddy and Matt. Just like Paula and Randy saved Chris Daughtry after Simon — idiot alert! — gave Daughtry a pass in his first audition.

I don’t give a rat’s ass about any of these top 24 singers. Joe’s Place says Andrew Garcia is the only lock for the top 10.

I can understand that, but he’s too Danny Gokey for me. If that’s the best they can do, no wonder Simon is leaving.

Looking at the list … is there anyone here to get jazzed about? Usually by this time in the season I have at least one person I’m pulling for. We didn’t see much of Kris Allen at all by this time last season, but we did see a lot of Adam Lambert and Danny Gokey and, the previous year, I have a clear memory of wanting to hug David Archuleta as much as Paula did.

But now? Eh.

I guess I’m happy for Ashley Rodriguez and Katie Stevens — whom Kara says could win the whole thing, but remember what she said about Matt. But the others I could take or leave at this point.

I don’t even think we have a Sanjaya or Norman Gentle. Normally that’d be good news, but this time it just leaves zero entertainment value. (Plus, no ditzy Paula to lovingly mock.)

It just seems like there’s no momentum this season. No standouts — at least now that Maddy and Matt are gone. Too much recapping. Too much focus on backstories from people with mediocre talent I know I will never listen to on the radio.

Maybe I’ll be proven wrong when we get to the top 10, but I have no strong desire to stick with this season to find out. Why should I?

Guess I can officially switch over to The Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show.

***SPOILER ALERT***

According to Joe’s Place, here is the list of the full top 24:

Top 12 Boys:

1. Aaron Kelly
2. Alexander “Alex” Lambert
3. Andrew Garcia
4. Casey James
5. Christopher “Chris” Golightly – ** ***Updated 7:54 2/17: According to Joe’s Place, Chris Golightly may be out for having an “old, expired contract” and Tim Urban may be in. According to MJ’s Big Blog, “The brain trust at Idol began putting the pages up early for the Top 24 today–Tim has a page, Chris does not.

6. Jermaine Sellers
7. John Park
8. Jose Munoz
9. Lee DeWyze
10. Michael Lynche
11. Todrick Hall
12. Tyler Grady

******

Top 12 Girls:

1. Ashley (Makailah) Rodriguez
2. Crystal Bowersox
3. Haeley Vaughn
4. Janell Wheeler
5. Katelyn Epperly
6. Katie Stevens
7. Lacey Brown
8. Lillian “Lilly” Scott
9. Michelle Delamor
10. Paige Miles
11. Siobhan Magnus

