Ali talks to Ellen about being the next "Bachelorette." Whine!

By Gina Carbone
gina_carbone@comcast.net

She’s pulling a Jake! They’re letting her pull a Jake!

Ali Fedotowsky made a brief return to “The Bachelor: On the Wings of Love” Monday after leaving last week for work.

She made a pitch to Jake Pavelka to stay.

He said thanks but no thanks.

And today Ali’s telling Ellen DeGeneres she’d be happy to be the next “Bachelorette.” Sort of.

(Watch a YouTube clip here.)

“That would be so nice,” Ali told Ellen Tuesday on her show. “I would be so flattered. … If (ABC) were to ask me, that would be so great.”

Once again, in your face, Facebook. She loves you. She loves you not.

Ali’s direct answer to Ellen was “I don’t know,” but mostly because Ellen also asked what about her job and she can’t very well tell her boss to screw it until she’s signed the “Bachelorette” paperwork.

But this reminds me of when Jake was dumped by Jillian Harris on “The Bachelorette,” but had his own orchestrated return to the show to tell Jillian that Wes Hayden had a girlfriend.

That didn’t work out too well for him with Jillian, but he did end up becoming a “fan favorite” — like Ali — and found himself dating 25 women.

(Meanwhile, in his People.com blog, Jake said “I will always love Ali and she will always have a great friend in me.” He also dispelled rumors about whom he would’ve dumped if Ali had stayed. “”Many speculate that if Ali had not left to go back to work, Gia would have gone home at the rose ceremony in episode six. This is absolutely not true. I had no idea which girl wasn’t getting a rose, and fortunately I never had to make that decision.”)

For the record, Ali should not be the next “Bachelorette.” She has proven herself incapable of making decisions without whining like a child.

Considering every “Bachelor” and “Bachelorette” feels compelled to announce at least once an episode that “this is harder than I thought,” I can’t condone putting myself through more “I don’t knooooowww!” tears from Ali.

There. It’s on the record. I am 99 percent sure she will be the next “Bachelorette” but she does not have my endorsement.

(Here are Chris Harrison’s thoughts on the matter.)

Of course it doesn’t matter what I think and it’s never mattered who the “Bachelor” or “Bachelorette” really is because the 25-30 men and women they cast are the real draws.

So I’ve just talked myself into a circle. So what. It’s on the verge of snowing 4-8 inches in New Hampshire and I don’t feel like doing anything worthwhile today.

Anyway, USA Today has a poll up, but the choices are no good. They only offer Ali, Gia, Vienna or Tenley as “Bachelorette” options. I say none of the above.

Here is the poll as it stood on Tuesday morning, with 219 votes:

Should Ali be the next ‘Bachelorette?’

Yes, she’d be perfect.60%
No, Gia would be better.19%
I’d like to see Vienna do it.5%
Tenley would make a sweet ‘Bachelorette.’ 16%
