Peter Capaldi and James Gandolfini get heated in "In the Loop."

By Gina Carbone
gina_carbone@comcast.net

I don’t often guffaw, but today I guffawed at least half a dozen times over the genius writing and delivery of “In the Loop.”

Have you seen it? See it. But only if you appreciate British humor and especially if you believe — as I do — that the original version of “The Office” is 100 times better than the American usurper.

“In the Loop” is a political comedy about U.S. and U.K. government underlings debating a war with an unnamed Middle Eastern country.

James Gandolfini is the Big Star, but he’s a supporting player. The key actors are on the British side, especially Peter Capaldi as a foul-mouthed Scot named Malcolm Tucker.

I would marry this man.

Also brilliant: Tom Hollander as dimwitted Simon Foster and the lovely and amazing Gina McKee as beleaguered Judy Molloy.

Mimi Kennedy holds up best on the U.S. side, but it’s also nice to see Anna Chlumsky, whom I’ll always remember from “My Girl.”

Steve Coogan also makes a cameo. Fitting since the director and co-writer, Armando Iannucci, was also a writer/producer/director on Coogan’s genius projects, “I’m Alan Partridge” and “Knowing Me, Knowing You With Alan Partridge.”

“In the Loop” is a kind of spinoff of the British TV series “The Thick of It,” which I can’t seem to get through Netflix.

But you can get “In the Loop” from Netflix and if you haven’t seen it, DO IT NOW. Seriously. It’s January. It’s cold. Don’t pretend you were going to have a wild night on the town.

I want “In the Loop” for a best screenplay nomination, if nothing else. Hard to say if it’s adapted or original, but it’s fecking gorgeous.

Capaldi deserves a best actor or supporting actor Oscar nomination, but I know he won’t get anything. I just want it on the record that he deserves something and to leave him off the ballot is S star-star T.

Read some of the more memorable quotes here.

Watch a film trailer here.

Enjoy!

