Dying. This is "evil" genius.

I may be ready to change my Cycle 15 “Top Model” favorite from Rhianna Atwood to Kayla Ferrel. (Although I still adore Rhianna.)

It was makeover week on ANTM, also known as the “Patricia Field” episode where two models were eliminated.

Terra, your new hair looks good!

Poor Terra White got the boot right after getting her makeover. She was upset that the judges chose to get rid of her after chopping her beloved hair, but the Js got rid of her because she got so upset about them chopping her hair. If she had just put on a brave face she might’ve stayed for the fallen angel photo shoot.  This seems to happen to someone every cycle.

By the way, Terra looks 100 percent better with that short hair. Gorgeous.

I liked most of the makeovers. I can’t think of any major misses, except maybe Lexie Tomcheck, who lost her sparkle. Maybe that’s karma for her “Academy” winning performance pretending to be upset after they circulated the fake makeover plan list.

Some of the makeovers were subtle. Esther Petrack just went darker, but she definitely stands out even more just from going jet black. Rhianna stayed a long-haired hippie. Jane Randall bores me now. Kacey Leggett looked cuter with her glasses.

But I loved the gap-toothed, ice blonde look for Chelsey Hersley. (She’s kind of Anna Paquin-esque now.)

And I dub thee Pennywise.

And I especially loved the dramatic clown red hair for Kayla Ferrel. She said her girlfriend told her not to come home bald or with red hair, but that’s — wait a minute, what’s wrong with having red hair? Why is there a stigma against redheads? I’ve always wanted to have red hair, like my mom and aunts and Irish grandma.

Anyway, I don’t even normally like bangs, but this shocking red hair and bangs go perfectly with Kayla’s face and whole attitude. She looks high fashion. I could see her making a strong impact on a magazine cover or on the runway — i.e. winning this thing.

I agree with the judges that the fallen angel shoot was basically a disaster. Dreckitude! That’s a shame considering it’s one of the show’s better challenges. You know the crap they make these women do. Pretending to be an angel with black wings is pretty cool. So much opportunity. But they all just let the men lead. Bad move.

Ann Ward just won two challenges in a row and the judges love her quirky style. Is she going to win?

Well, not ALL. Ann Ward, who proved herself a saucy lass with that fake makeover list, did a great job and won the first call out AGAIN. Chris White, who was devastated by the elimination of her sister Terra, also did well. My girl Rhianna killed it. So did Kayla.

Poor Sara Blackamore lost her eyebrows and her son may not even recognize her anymore. But she was sent home. Probably a good call, but I could’ve lost Lexie too. They are both blah. “Deaditorial.”

Here’s my current list of favorites at this point (it’s early) in the season of “America’s Next Top Model”:

Kayla Ferrel, 19, Rockford, Illinois, 5 ft 9 in
Rhianna Atwood, 20, San Diego, California, 6 ft 1½ in
Ann Ward, 19, Dallas, Texas, 6 ft 2 in
Chris White, 20, Arlington, Texas, 5 ft 10½ in
Chelsey Hersley, 22, Boise, Idaho,  5 ft 11 in
Kendal Brown, 23, Northport, Alabama, 5 ft 11 in
Esther Petrack, 18, Boston, Massachusetts, 5 ft 9 in
Kacey Leggett, 20, Palmdale, California, 5 ft 9 in
Jane Randall, 19, Baltimore, Maryland, 5 ft 9 in
Lyzbeth “Liz” Williams, 21,, Arlington, Texas, 5 ft 10 in
Lexie Tomcheck, 18, Geneva, Illinois, 6 ft 0 in

Catch up on my “America’s Next Top Model” stories in this archive.

