Merry Christmas, Grandpa!

By Gina Carbone
gina_carbone@comcast.net

Can you imagine being James Franco’s agent?

You have to watch him bounce from “Spider-Man” to sleeping through classes at Columbia University to “Pineapple Express” to “General Hospital” to stopping by SNL a few weeks ago for a non-speaking cameo during the “What Up With That” on Gerard Butler’s show. (Did he get paid for that?)

He must just tell his agent “I’m available” and leave it at that.

I loved Franco’s jokes about his own odd career choices during his “Saturday Night Live” monologue last night. He said he just spins an idea bin filled with suggestions from fans.

I wonder which fan suggested he should make out with multiple men during the “Kissing Family” skit?

Hmm…

The guy is game, I’ll give him that. Later in the show, he made out with Christmas trees.

And was … uh … serviced by Fred Armisen’s Liberace as James Dean (a role he’s familiar with) on the Vincent Price Christmas special.

He also (accidentally, I think) spit on Andy Samberg’s face as one of the ignorant frat boys (on your knees!) in the fraternity skit.

Usually my favorite skit of any show is Kenan Thompson’s “What Up With That” but this week the skit was … odd. Check it out and tell me what you think.

I’m not saying I think anyone was on drugs, but it was odd. Nice to see Mike Tyson there, he’s probably the only person they could find who tends to slur his words more than Franco. Congrats to Jack McBrayer of “30 Rock” for getting the non-speaking role. Love Bill Hader as the increasingly irritated Lindsey Buckingham.

There were plenty of laugh-out-loud moments, so why did I think the show was only so-so? There really wasn’t anything hugely funny or memorable, to me. Or maybe I’m still obsessed with the potato chip skit from the Blake Lively show.

But really I think I just expected the world of James Franco, who has hosted before and who is one of SNL’s best go-to guys.

The show used him in almost every skit — which shows their faith in him — but once again I think the writers could’ve stepped up their games a bit.

Franco’s show was 10 times better than Taylor Lautner’s (and 100 times better than poor January Jones’) but not quite in Taylor Swift country.

The kissing skit will probably be the most talked-about one from his show this year, but does the show as a whole stand up? Not sure. Check with me later.

Oh. By the way. I’m now a Muse fan.

Related Stories

